Face Of The Day: Autumn Edition 

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

NARS Sheer Glow Foundation in ‘Mont Blanc’ – £31

Although this is my second bottle of this and I know I will repurchase it in future, I’ve had a real love/hate relationship with this foundation recently. In the past, I’ve absolutely loved this foundation and I even dedicated a post to it back in June.

However, I’ve had huge issues with my skin over the past few weeks as I’ve found that no matter how many times I cleanse, tone and moisturise, my skin will not clear up! I’ve been really spotty and my skin has gone from oily to dry in just a few weeks due to the change in the weather and this foundation has really helped me out due to its medium coverage. Although I have found that it’s dewy, glowy finish has sometimes highlighted my problem areas rather than conceal them and therefore I’m beginning to think that I need to invest in a different foundation for bad skin days and only use this when I have clear skin. However, for those days when my skin is good, this is an amazing foundation in terms of coverage and providing a lovely healthy, glowy finish.

NARS Contour Kit in ‘Paloma’ – £32

I’ve expressed my undecided thoughts on this contour kit many times before such as in my April Beauty Favourites post, but I’ve decided that I actually quite like it. Whilst I think the highlight shade is absolutely useless, I do think the contour shade does a great job of helping me create the illusion of sharp cheekbones and it does have impressive staying power as I’ve noticed that in pictures this lasts well even when the rest of my face is beginning to melt off!

Kiko Velvet Touch Creamy Stick Blush in ’01’- £7.90

This is definitely my favourite blush in my collection. The creamy formula is incredibly easy to blend out, both with your fingers and a brush and the lovely rose gold pink shade looks lovely with autumnal makeup as it isn’t too bright but still adds a nice touch of colour.

NARS Copocobana Illuminator – £23

I really love this illuminator and it wasn’t until I tried other highlighters that I truly appreciated how good this is. I usually apply this after my Contour and Blush to the top of my cheekbones and occasionally, I will add it under my eyebrows too with a pencil brush to add definition to my brows. This is incredibly easy to blend out and I find it works best when I apply it with my fingers. 

Kiko Eyeshadow in ‘118’ – £2.90

I’ve had this for ages and I haven’t put it to good use until recently. This is the perfect neutral golden shimmery eyeshadow and it looks lovely on its own with winged liner or with a dark brown shade in the crease.

Bobbi Brown Eyeshadow in ‘Sable’ – £17

This is a rediscovery of mine as I’ve had it for years but never really used it as I didn’t like it all over my lid but I’ve found it works perfectly in the crease, particularly with my Kiko eyeshadow or the ‘Dirtysweet’ shade from my Naked Smoky palette.

Urban Decay Naked Smoky Palette – £38

As I’ve previously expressed in posts such as my 5 New Beauty Favourites, this is my favourite eyeshadow palette as it is just so varied and there are so many eye looks I can create with it. I love using the ‘High’ shade with ‘Smolder’ shade to create an incredibly autumnal purple toned smoky eye, however I also love the ‘Dirtysweet’ shade with the Radar shade for a shimmery copper evening look that looks nice paired with a red lip.

Primark Rose Gold Eyelash Curlers – £1 (In Store)

I bought these months ago when I spotted them in Primark and thought they would be the perfect addition to my rose gold makeup brush collection, however I have only started using them daily recently. I never used to think that curling your eyelashes had a huge effect however I’ve noticed that it makes my eyes appear much more awake and my mascara seems to apply much more seamlessly, which is great when I have to put on a face of makeup at 7am most days.

Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in ‘Trooper’ – £16

This was actually a free sample as I mentioned in  my September Beauty Buys post however I will definitely be repurchasing this when it comes to an end. This eyeliner is definitely worth the hype it receives, it is SO pigmented and lasts so long without any smudges or fading. I’m not sure whether it’s waterproof, but it definitely hasn’t transferred on to my oily eyelids which is the norm for any other eyeliner I’ve tried before.

L’Oreal Voluminous Lashes – £8.49

I purchased this without doing my research before hand as I usually would, partially because of the lovely packaging (usually drugstore mascaras look so ugly), and partially because it claimed that it would lengthen lashes as well as add volume. I’ve been really happy with how easy this is to apply as I love that it is a brush applicator rather than a plastic one and it really does lengthen and volumise my lashes, however I have discovered that applying this to my bottom lashes has been slightly risky as it has often transferred and slid down my face leaving me with panda eyes by 10am (not a good look!) However, I’ve found that setting my concealer with my Mac Select Sheer Powder has prevented this and I’m sure this mascara would be perfect for anyone who doesn’t have watery eyes like myself!

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in ‘Copenhagen’ – £5.50

I have absolutely fallen in love with this deep berry lip shade and I have been wearing it at any opportunity I can! Unfortunately I forgot to photograph this when I was doing the photos for this post, however to read more about this and to see my pictures of it, have a read of my September Beauty Buys post.

Leave a Reply

