5 Underrated Bands

collage-for-5-underrated-bands

1) Sundara Karma 

credit-to-diy-magazine
Photo by DIY Magazine

I first discovered Sundara Karma back in January following the release of their single ‘Loveblood’. Soon after, they released ‘A Young Understanding’ which I also loved as it reminded me of my favourite band of all time, The Killers. Their most recent release, ‘She Said’ is also a huge indie hit and makes me even more impatient for the release of their debut album ‘Youth is only ever fun in retrospect’ in January. They also announced a tour on Monday so I’m hoping I can see them again next year as they were outstanding when I saw them support Nothing But Thieves earlier this year.

My Favourite Songs: A Young Understanding, Loveblood, She Said

2) Twin Wild

credit-to-play-it-again-sam
Photo by Play It Again Sam

I have adored Twin Wild ever since I saw them live for the first time in March 2015. Since then, I have seen them 3 times and they never fail to impress. I am so obsessed with their first two singles ‘Fears’ and ‘Another Stranger’ even to this day and their new EP ‘My Heart’ proves that they really are a great band who can both write and perform, and most definitely aren’t a one hit wonder, they’re here to stay.

My Favourite Songs: Another Stranger, Fears, Willow Tree

3) Black Foxxes

credit-to-clash-magazine
Photo by Clash Magazine

I have only seen Black Foxxes live once, when they supported Nothing But Theives at the Dome in London, and at the time, I had no idea who they were or what kind of music they produced. I wasn’t really attracted to their music until the release of their debut album ‘Whatever let’s you cope’ back in summer, and this record has helped me through a really rough patch over the past few months and I’ve developed quite a personal attachment to it. On first listen, it may just sound like a load of noise and guitars, but if you take the time to listen and analyse the lyrics on each track, you will soon realise these guys are great songwriters and they are so much fun to watch perform too.

My Favourite Songs: HUSK, Whatever Lets You Cope, I’m Not Well

4) Witterquick

credit-to-fortitude-magazine
Photo by Fortitude Magazine

These are yet another band I have seen support Nothing But Thieves and been impressed by. NBT are great at picking support acts aren’t they? These guys are honestly really great live and although they haven’t released much music yet, I thoroughly recommend that you give them a listen on Spotify or SoundCloud because they deserve so much more recognition and praise than they receive.

My Favourite Songs: Soldiers, Rise, Fade Out

5) Fatherson 

6612233
Credit to fathersonband.co.uk

Fatherson are another band, like Twin Wild that I have been obsessed with for so long, yet they are so underrated and deserve so much more praise than they get. I’m a little biased because they’re Scottish (all my family are)  and they are mates with one of my favourite bands ever, Twin Atlantic, but they have been so consistent in making really great rock albums that aren’t only a loud noise, but have substance and meaning to the songs. I finally got to see them perform last November when they supported Prides on their UK tour, and I can confirm that they are just as good live.

My Favourite Songs: An Island, I Like Not Knowing, Kiteers

Who are your favourite underrated bands?

Kathryn x

 

 

Leave a Reply

