Beauty Wishlist – Drugstore Edition- Autumn/Winter 2016

drugstore-autumn-collage

Hi there! Sorry for the severe lack of posts lately, I’ve been really busy with school work and I haven’t had any time to dedicate to my poor blog. However, I’ve made myself a little schedule for the next few months so that I will have a better idea of what content I’ll be publishing next. Hopefully it all goes to plan!

After my high end wish list post receiving such lovely, positive feedback I thought I would post my drugstore wish list for this season, which is full of much more affordable alternatives to those in my high end post and some different products like oval brushes and 3/4 length lashes too.

L’Oreal Paris Collection Exclusive Lipstick – Blake’s Red – £6.99

My love of red lipstick is still quite new as prior to the launch of NYX Cosmetics in UK drugstores in April when I tried their Matte Lipstick in ‘Indie Flick’, I had been convinced red lipsticks would never suit me and that they would look way too bold against my  pale complexion. However I found that this wasn’t the case and that actually I loved red lipstick, especially for evening wear. The NYX Lipstick that I purchased was pretty orange-toned and whilst it looks lovely during the summer when I have more of a tan, I love the look of this L’Oréal lipstick for a winter evening makeup look as it is the perfect festive red.

Eyelure Fleur Loves 3/4 Lashes – £5.25

I have a love/hate relationship with false lashes as I adore natural looking, fluttery lashes but I detest thick black, spider-y ones as I feel like I struggle to open my eyes properly when wearing them. I also find that lashes are always significantly longer than my natural lash line so I end up chopping about 1/3 of the lash off so that it fits. I’m hoping that these lovely natural 3/4 lashes would fit perfectly, and may just be my ideal false lashes.

L’Oreal Lumi Magnique Primer – £9.99

I have never tried a drugstore primer as I fear that they will make me break out or will just not live up to my expectations at all. However, I tried the Lumi-Magnique foundation with fairly low expectations of it not being great at all however it pleasantly surprised me and it is now my favourite drugstore foundation. I’m hoping that the primer will be just as good and give me a long-lasting glowy look.

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in ‘Cannes’ – £5.50

I’ve tried two of these lip creams now and I absolutely adore the formula of them. I currently own ‘Istanbul’ which is a bright baby pink shade that I wore all the time in Spring, and ‘Copenhagen’, a deep plum which I look forward to wearing throughout winter. Therefore, I feel that a simple, everyday nude is the only colour I desperately need to add to my collection and ‘Cannes’ looks like it could potentially be the perfect addition.

Max Factor Creme Puff Blush in ‘Nude Mauve’ – £8.99

Whenever I see these in Boots I am always so tempted to buy one but I have resisted on numerous occasions due to the ridiculous amount of blushers I already own. However I think that I may need to make an exception for this particular shade as the majority of my blushes are very pink and this would be nice as a nice subtle option on minimal makeup days.

Maybelline 24 Hour Colour Tattoo in ‘On and On Bronze’ – £4.99

I have wanted to try this for so long now but every single time I go into Boots or Superdrug it is sold out. The shade is a beautiful coppery brown colour that is right up my street as I think these colours make my eyes pop more than any others and I absolutely love cream eyeshadows simply because of how easy they are to apply.

NYX Tame and Frame Tinted Brow Pomade in ‘Chocolate’ – £5.50

I have wanted to try the Anastasia Beverly Hills Dipbrow Pomade for a while now but I already have quite full, dark brows and I fear that this product would just help me achieve ‘slugs’ rather than defined brows. However, I’ve read a lot of blogposts that claim this NYX offering is an exact dupe of the ABH Dipbrow and therefore I would like to try out the cheaper of the two first to see whether I can make a pomade work for my brows.

Tanya Burr Martha Moo Luxe Lip Gloss – £5.99

Although this was released back in the summer, I do still really want to get my hands on this because it looks so lovely on Tanya and is the type of shade I’ve been loving right now. Dark nudes and pinks are my favourite Autumn to Winter transition colours and despite the hype of plum and reds, I do think they are more of an evening lip colour and ‘Martha Moo’ may just be my ideal daytime lip colour for the Autumn.

NYX Lip Lingerie in ‘Exotic’ – £6.50

I am yet to try any of the Lip Lingeries from NYX as everytime I visit Boots, they are always sold out. However, I did swatch this using the tester on the back of my hand and it was such a gorgeous colour that I’ve been trying to source it for months now but I’m yet to find it. I really hope this is in stock soon!

Barry M Gelly High Shine Nail Paint in ‘Black Cherry’ and ‘Black Grape’ – £3.99 each

I’m really lacking in dark coloured nail polishes and these two shades recently caught my eye whilst browsing the Superdrug website. Black Cherry is a lovely deep plum colour and Black Grape is a really dark teal colour, both of which are super versatile and would liven up any outfit this season.

Colourpop Ultra Satin Lip in ‘Lost’ – $6

This is such a beautiful warm toned red/brown shade that really is perfect for Autumn. ‘Lost’ is completely different to any other lip colours I own so I’d really like to see if this shade suits me, especially when it is such a cheap price too.

Sleek Highlighter Palette in ‘Solstice’ – £9.99

I feel like every time I scroll through my Bloglovin’ feed this palette appears and I’m sure it is with good reason. I recently tried my first powder highlighters last month with the Makeup Revolution ‘Radiance’ Palette and although I’m happy with it, I don’t love it enough to repurchase it and I’m on the lookout for a better alternative. Everyone claims that this is the best highlighter palette available at the drugstore so I’m keen to try it out to see if it is worth the hype.

Makeup Revolution Shape Precision Oval Makeup Brush – £7.99  and  Makeup Revolution Face Precision Oval Makeup Brush – £9.99

I noticed this new style of brush a few months ago on Instagram and because I had only seen MAC oval brushes that have a pretty large price tag, I wasn’t convinced enough to buy them in case they weren’t for me. However I noticed these in Superdrug and they look like a pretty good dupe to higher end oval brushes, and they’re rose gold too, which is always a plus.

Colourpop Super Shock Cheek highlighter in ‘Lunch Money’ – $8

I’ve read so many good reviews of these highlighters over the last few months and I’m so desperate to try one now! If it wasn’t for the ridicously expensive and difficult shipping process, I would have snapped this up ages ago! But I’m growing more and more impatient so I think I will need to make a Colourpop order soon!

Milani Baked Blush in ‘Berry Amore’ – £8.00

This is another blush that is very different to those that I currently have in my collection. This is a lovely purple/berry colour that would look lovely paired with a dark red lip during winter and I am so excited to try a blush that literally every blogger raves about.

Soap & Glory Thick & Fast HD Mascara – £10.50

I tried the Soap & Glory Thick & Fast Mascara a few years ago and even though I loved it, I never got round to repurchasing it and since then, I’ve dabbled between Maybelline and Seventeen Mascaras; neither of which I’ve loved. I really want to try this HD version to see how they compare and whether it can beat the original version, and also the packaging is really pretty too, so that’s a bonus.

Essie Nail Polish in ‘Playing Koi’ – £7.99

Its no secret that I absolutely adore Essie polishes and this shade from their Fall collection is gorgeous. It is a rusty red/brown shade that would complement so many outfits and could possibly become my staple autumnal nail colour.

Tanya Burr Birthday Suit Eyeshadow Palette – £5.99

This is also part of Tanya’s summer collection but I think neutral eyeshadow looks great all year round and I think this palette would make doing a neutral smokey eye effortless and would be really nice with a plum or red lipstick such as the NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in ‘Copenhagen’.

Which products are on your drugstore wish list?

Kathryn x

 

 

7 thoughts on “Beauty Wishlist – Drugstore Edition- Autumn/Winter 2016

Leave a Reply

