September Beauty Buys

img_3879

1. Makeup Revolution Palette in ‘Radiance’ – £8.00 

img_3945

I had seen this on loads of blogposts and thought it was looked like such a lovely palette for such a low price. Although I knew this was a subtle highlight, I had expected more payoff from them as when I swatched the tester in store they appeared to be much more pigmented. This palette is okay for creating a subtle daytime highlight but to get a more intense highlight for evening wear, I find that it is best to apply this with a wet brush or layered over my NARS illuminator. However, for only £8, this is a great buy and is definitely one of the nicest high street palettes I’ve ever purchased.

2. NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in ‘Copenhagen’- £5.50 

img_3787

I absolutely adore the formula of these and after trying the ‘Istanbul’ shade in Spring (a bright baby pink shade), I was after a more autumnal colour. I know that dark plums and reds are such a typical lip colour for autumn but I have always been scared of dark lipsticks as I feared they wouldn’t suit me, but recently I have got really into bright, bold lipsticks and so I bought this on impulse and I actually love it. I am so excited to wear this with gold or copper toned eyeshadow and winged liner!

3. Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in ‘Trooper’ – Free Sample (0.2ml) / £16 for full size (0.55ml)

img_3882img_3815

I always buy drugstore eyeliners however I wanted to try out a high end formula to see how they compared. I know that people rave about this eyeliner and say it is one of the best high end eyeliners, so I  was delighted when I received this as a free sample when I bought a new Clarins Flash Balm from Debenhams a couple of weeks ago. I have only tried this once, however I was very impressed with the pigmentation and it is so easy to apply. The formula is really long lasting too and even after hours of wear, it hadn’t started to fade or run in the same way that drugstore formulas sometimes do. I will definitely be repurchasing this when I finish this tester and I look forward taking advantage of being able to now get hold of Kat Von D products in my local Debenhams!

img_3835

4. Lush Mask Of Magnaminty – £6.25 for 125g

img_3783

I have mentioned this in previous posts, including my Lush Oxford Street Haul (here) and my April Beauty Favourites (here). I was running dangerously low of this last month and when I visited Glasgow at the start of September, it was the first item I picked up in Lush and I’ve now realised how important this product is in my skincare regime. My skin has been so dry and dull recently, partially due to fatigue and stress, and also because I’ve not really taken great care of it since I came back from holiday at the end of August. Since repurchasing the mask, I’ve used it every week and my skin has become so much clearer and healthier. I can even see the effects of this mask straight after removing it which is why I love it so much. also, the scent is so heavenly, it smells exactly like mint tea! This is one of the best face masks out there and if you’re in Lush, I really encourage you to buy it and give it a go, you won’t regret it!

5. Bourjois Velvet Matte Lip in ‘Peach Club’ – £8.99

img_3907

I have actually owned this for a while but I completely forgot about it until I saw it at the bottom of my lipstick stash a few weeks ago. I still have a love/hate relationship with bright shades of lipstick as I fear that they wash me out and don’t suit me but I have been trying to be a little braver lately, so I put this to the test when I went out for my friend’s birthday a couple of weeks ago. I was so impressed by how comfortable this is to wear as it doesn’t feel drying at all, and is SO long lasting. My friend couldn’t believe that this was a drugstore lipstick as she was wearing a Smashbox lipstick and this lasted just as long as hers, and for only £9, I think that’s pretty incredible. If you are looking for a mid-priced long-lasting matte lipstick, this is your call.

6. Benefit Goof Proof Brow Pencil in ’02 Light’ – Free Sample (0.11g) / £18.50 for full size (1g)

img_3897

This is another free sample that I received in a magazine when Benefit re-launched their brow products a couple of months ago. I love this because of how easy and quick it makes tidying my brows up in the morning and is perfect for everyday makeup as it doesn’t look too ‘fake’ or bold. I also love that this shade is much lighter than my actual brows, as it is in shade 2 whereas typically I would be 4, meaning that I can use it for Sixth Form or other subtle makeup looks without looking like I have filled my brows in with loads of product. I’m definitely going to purchase this soon as I prefer it to my Rimmel pencil.

Which beauty products have you been loving throughout September?

Kathryn x

 

 

4 thoughts on “September Beauty Buys

Leave a Reply

