Favourite Albums of 2016 so far

I like it when you sleep for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it – The 1975 

 IMG_3029

This is possibly my personal most highly anticipated album release of the year so  far simply down to the fact that The 1975 have been my favourite band for years now. Their debut albums is one of my favourites and I expected the second to be just as good, if not better. The band most certainly delivered and I love the more slightly darker tone on this album compared to the first. I’d most definitely say ‘I like it when you sleep for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it’ was worth the two year wait.

Favourite Songs From The Album: If I Believe You, The Ballad Of Me and My Brain, Loving Someone

Views – Drake

IMG_3026

I think most people would agree this has been one of the best albums of 2016 so far, I mean, what’s not to love? Drake just seems to have a way with words and although I don’t listen to a great deal of R&B, I am always drawn in by Drake and I just can’t seem to stop playing Views on repeat.

Favourite Songs From The Album: Keep The Family Close, Feel No Ways, Too Good

Death Of A Bachelor – Panic! At The Disco

IMG_3033

Although this album isn’t my favourite in the sense that I don’t love all the songs on the album and I don’t listen to it on shuffle as I do with The 1975 and Astrid, I do really love a few of the louder, pop-rock style songs, they can put me in a really good mood instantly!

Favourite Songs From The Album: Victorious, Don’t Threaten Me With A Good Time, Emperor’s New Clothes, Crazy=Genius

Astrid S – Astrid S

IMG_3020

I think I fell in love with Astrid almost instantly when I saw her perform as Troye Sivan’s support act at his gig in Manchester in April. Not only does she have an incredible stage presence, and is able to get the whole crowd going, she also has an amazing voice. Therefore when I read on twitter that she was going to be releasing an EP in May, I was extremely excited to finally be able to listen to the songs I had loved hearing live again. As expected, I love the EP and I’m so excited to see what Astrid will do in the future (hopefully an album soon!)

Favourite Songs From The Album: Paper Thin, Hurts So Good, Atic

Phase – Jack Garratt

IMG_3041.JPG

After hearing Weathered on Radio 1 quite a while ago, I quickly became a fan of Jack due to his incredible talent to play all those instruments and still sing amazingly. Seriously, how one man can do all of that on stage is just mind blowing. His style is difficult to categorise and the album showcases a variety of genres, which I think is why I love it so much as its nothing like the other albums sat next to it in the charts. Jack is definitely on my ‘To See Live’ list and I urge you to check his music out if you haven’t already.

Favourite Songs From The Album: Breathe Life, Worry, Chemical

ANTI – Rihanna

IMG_3021

I’ll be the first to admit I’ve never really been a fan of Rihanna or her music, and although she’s been in the charts for most of my life, I never really got it. That was until the release of ANTI in January. Unlike any of her other catchy, pop hits, this album has a dark, moody feel and doesn’t sound like the Rihanna I thought I knew before. Seen as my favourite genre of music is probably dark pop, I have grown to love this album over the past few months and I’m so glad that I decided to give it a listen.

Favourite Songs From The Album: Needed Me, Same Ol’ Mistakes, Love On The Brain

Let me know what your favourite albums of 2016  are so far!

Kathryn x

One thought on “Favourite Albums of 2016 so far

Leave a comment